
Prime Climb is a game of strategy and luck for 2-­4 players.

Time
Roughly 10 minutes per player. Recommended for ages 10 and up.

Included
-­ Prime Climb board
-­ Eight pawns

Setup

go!

Goal of the Game

of Prime Climb is to land both your pawns on 101 exactly.

Rules
Players take turns until someone wins by landing both pawns exactly on 

-­24 Prime Cards
-­4 blank Prime Cards

CLIMBRIMEP



1. Roll

doubles, you must use the number you rolled four times instead of twice. 

2. Move

your pawn is on by a number you rolled and send that pawn to the 

numbers, or numbers greater than 101.

Say you have a pawn on 14, and you roll a 3 and a 9. You could, if 
you chose, subtract 3 from 14 to land on 11, then multiply 11 by 9 to move to 
99. Note that each die is applied one at a time. You cannot multiply 3 times 
9 and use 27 for your move. 

For more details, see the examples further on in these rules.

3. Bump

not optional.

space, not when you pass through an occupied space.

You have a pawn on 31. Your opponents have pawns on 33 and 
37. You roll a 2 and a 4, which you apply by adding the 2 to move from 31 
to 33, and then adding the 4 to move from 33 to 37. You bump the pawn on 
37 back to Start. You do not bump the pawn on 33 back to Start, since you 
did not end your Move Phase on 33.

4. Draw

number greater than 10), and



Action Cards 

Card takes your pawn to an occupied space on the board, bump the pawn 

Keeper Cards

K E E P E R

9

ADD OR SUBTRACT 
YOUR PAWN BY 9

K

K E E P E R

PLAY THIS CARD ON 
AN OPPONENT. 

ON THEIR 
FOLLOWING TURN, 

THEY MAY ONLY 
SUBTRACT OR DIVIDE

K

K E E P E R

SEND ALL PAWNS 
WITHIN TWO SPACES OF 

YOU BACK TO START

pile and continue drawing as necessary.

R O L L 
A G A I N !

REVERSE THE DIGITS 
IN YOUR NUMBER

   

SWITCH TWO PAWNS 
ON THE BOARD



101 and Winning the Game

You want to apply a roll of 7 to pawn on 98. You cannot roll to 
101 by adding, and cannot roll forward 3 and back 4 to end at 97. The only 
options available are to subtract to end at 91, or divide to end at 14.

Using the Colors

together are combined.

3 14 42x =



Examples

Example 1

• 

• 
it from 78 to 87.

• 

a Prime Card.

• 

by one.

• 

board at the end of your turn.)

Example 2

• 

pawn, you do not bump it back to start, because you did not end 

• 
turn at 42 and send your opponent back to start.

• 
at 41, and draw a Prime Card.

Example 3

• 
red, draw a Prime Card.

• 
closer to 101 than any of your other options.



FAQ

Q: I ended a turn on 26. That has some red in it. Do I still get a card?
A: No. Only take a card if you land on a circle that is entirely red, like 29. 

Q: Can I apply a card to either pawn?
A: If it’s a Keeper card, yes. Otherwise, Action cards apply to the pawn that 
is on the prime number. If both pawns are on red circles, then you may 
choose which pawn the card applies to.

Q: I was on 99 and rolled a 2 and a 5. Can I just use the 2 to get to 101 and 
forget about the 5?
A: Yes! If you have a second pawn, you must apply the 5 to it. If not, the 
game ends as soon as you land on 101, and you don’t have to use the 5.

Q: When both tokens land on a prime number, do I draw one card or two?
A: Just 1. The advantage in this situation is that you get to choose which 
pawn the card applies to, if it’s not a Keeper.

Q: When using division does the die number need to exactly divide the 
board number?
A: Yes. Do not use fractions or rounding when you divide.

Q: When a token lands on 101, do I draw a card?
A: No.

Q: Do I have to move?  If the only thing I can do is subtract, do you have to 
move backwards?
A: You do have to move. That may mean moving backwards. In the unlikely 
event that you are forced to go below 0, you stay at 0.

Q: Do Action cards apply only to the pawn that landed on the red square?
A: Yes. If both pawns landed on a red space, you may apply the action to 
either pawn.

Q: In any one turn, can I move one pawn OR both?
A: Yes! Depending on the situation, moving one pawn might be a better 
move than moving both, or vice versa. Making this decision is an important 
part of the strategy of Prime Climb.

Q: I drew an Action Card that said I should reverse to the nearest pawn and 
send it back to Start. But the nearest pawn behind me is also my pawn! Do I 
send my own pawn back to Start?
A: Yes. In some situations, including this one, you may have to bump your 
own pawn back to Start.



Variations

Double Time

Way Stations

strategy of the standard game.

Prime Sprint

Prime Decline

pawn is bumped, it is sent back to 101.

There and Back Again

Solitaire Variation 1

Solitaire Variation 2

then back to 0.

Fill in the Blanks



taught and learned.
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